Generation to Generation

My aunt and her husband are visiting from Texas for a few days, so our extended family got together for some grilled hotdogs and hamburgers tonight.  We ate, shared stories of the old days, stories of missing family members, and laughed.

We’re just an ordinary American family, with roots going back mostly to England, but with a little German thrown in as well.  My uncle’s wife hauled us all out to the yard for photos.  They are just a couple of shots of ordinary people, like you would see in any family album or on any smart phone these days (one’s even a little blurry).  But to me they are special people indeed.

My dad and his siblings.

IMG_1102

The next generations, some of my cousins and I.

IMG_1104

You hear the best stories from ordinary people. That sense of immediacy is more real to me than a lot of writerly, literary-type crafted stories.  ~Chuck Palahniuk

2 thoughts on “Generation to Generation

    • Yes, that would be the three-year-old whose sweater I was working on at your house! 🙂

      On Sun, Aug 11, 2013 at 10:25 AM, 365 Daybook

Leave a Reply

