Speaking from Among the Bones

Day 288

Kindergartener raises his hand.  I ask, “Yes, Miles?”  “I broke my leg,” he informs me.  “Oh really?” I ask.  “When was this?”  Perhaps he broke it in preschool.  Or over the summer.  “On the way to the library,” he replies.  “Hmm,” I say, observing his calm demeanor and the fact he just climbed three steps. “You’ll be fine.”

Later, I’m walking by another room when I hear a lot of noise, and catch a snatch of the teacher’s voice intoning, “Bones break very easily.”  What’s going on in there? I sense a theme today.

Leave a Reply

