My Sister Makes Me Laugh

Day 157

Jenny was taking me through a digital slideshow of her visit to Prague.  It’s a beautiful city: the castle, cathedrals, the Jewish quarter, parks, and the river.  She was showing me pictures of the Charles Bridge and I asked, “Is that the Danube?” (My knowledge of Czech geography being somewhat limited).

“No,” she said. “I forget the name.  It’s something vaguely communist sounding.”

[For the record, it’s the Vltava River and, as she knows very well, it both predates and survives Eastern European communism.  But that’s a scientist for you — she prefers to leave history to liberal arts people like me.]

Leave a Reply

