Day 53

The Keeping Quilt

I got out a quilt because the nights were starting to get just a touch chilly.  Although the cat had abandoned the bed (and me) when I moved rooms, she’s suddenly back like she’d never left.  I think she hates the wool blanket!

It took me about twelve years, off and on, but I finished this quilt in 1998.  And yes, I use it, because it is truly a scrap quilt, not a priceless high quality one.

The book:
This is a touching story of a family heirloom passed down for about
a century through a Jewish immigrant family.  The quilt is made of 
the Russian family's dresses, shirts, aprons, etc., and is used 
with love throughout life in America.  Patricia Polacco's trademark
art highlights the tale.
Leave a Reply

