Day 23

Good Thing You’re Not An Octopus!

 As I was dealing with an unruly second grade class today, I was juggling several things at once.  When there are 25 students and only one adult who must check out books, help find titles, run crowd control, and deal with little emergencies,  it can get rather hectic.  After reprimanding one little boy several times, I was dealing with books falling off a shelf when the student demanded my attention again, wanting help with books on another shelf.  With exaggerated patience, I said, “Zion, I will help you in a minute.  I can only do one thing at a time.”  To which he replied, “Don’t you wish you were an octopus?”

For his sake, maybe it’s just as well I’m not.

Leave a Reply

