Day 2

London

All over the television today with the Olympics. Trafalgar Square. St. Martin in the Fields (Cafe in the Crypt!). The Tower. The London Eye. The Globe. Westminster Abbey. Usually I’d find myself wishing I were there again. But . . . the crowds. The traffic. The Tube. Wishing I were there again . . . after the next 17 days, maybe.

London from Greenwich, 2002

The book: 
I think of Edward Rutherfurd as the British James Michener (anyone
remember him?).  And although I liked Michener, being an 
Anglophile, I prefer Rutherfurd.  London is one of those sweeping 
sagas that starts out with the Celts, then goes from Roman 
Londinium right up through World War II to the modern age.  I think
my favorite of Rutherfurd's sagas (Sarum, The Forest, New York, 
and this one) is The Forest, but this one gets a thumbs up too.
Leave a Reply

